Mission & Members


The Committee will bring together researchers working on restorative justice, create an international and intergenerational network, and set together future research agendas and collaborations. More specifically, the EFRJ Research Committee will:

  • support and encourage research on restorative justice,
  • assist researchers in the field,
  • develop strategies to better disseminate research outcomes,
  • encourage the representation of research in other criminological or related events, conferences, publications,
  • identify gaps in existing research and can suggest topics to be explored,
  • share information on grant opportunities for researchers among EFRJ members and beyond,
  • initiate project proposals,
  • assist the EFRJ Secretariat to translate the existing research knowledge accumulated in the past years at the EFRJ to practice and policy.

Members of the EFRJ Research Committee

EFRJ Board representative: Brunilda Pali (Belgium) – chair of the committee: 2 years mandate, 2019-2021
EFRJ Secretariat representative: Laura Hein

  • Katerine Barnekow (Denmark)
  • Fernanda Fonseca (Brazil)
  • Ena Kazic (Bosnia)
  • Giuseppe Maglione (UK)
  • Ian Marder (Ireland)
  • Anna Matczak (Poland)
  • Federico Reggio (Italy)
  • Helena Soleto (Spain)
  • Estelle Zinsstag (Belgium/UK)

For more info you may contact the EFRJ Secretariat, or the chair of this Committee, Brunilda Pali.

Members EFRJ Research Committee 2019-2021

Measuring tape

Save the date!

On 5 November 2021

the Research Committee organises the online conference
"Measuring, researching, narrating: Discussing the (social) impact of restorative justice".

Click here to know more.

Banner image:  "Research" by Thomas Haynie on Flickr.com